St. Malachy's College Old Boys' Association



The Darts Section has come on leaps and bounds in the past year with a total of 32 players.


SMCOBA has four competitive teams within the North Belfast Darts League with the Old Boys’ in the Premier Division and the Zulus, Warriors and Comencharos in Division 1.


Internally, we host several competitions throughout the year at the “Mally Pally” to include: a premier league of darts St Malachys Style which runs throughout the season with an end of season party which isn’t to be missed; an internal-club cup and, most recently, a knockout tournament every Sunday where everyone is welcome to come along, have a throw and, most importantly, have a bit of craic!


The 2015-2016 season has been a successful one so far, with the Old Boys’ bringing home the Village Tavern 701 cup, the Zulus and the Warriors both semi-finalists in the McElhattons Cup and the Comencharos finalists of the Cavehill 701 cup.


Currently, the Old Boys’ are sitting joint 4th in a very close, competitive premier league. In division 1, the Warriors are sitting 3rd in the table with a game in hand over their Zulu stablemates who are sitting 5th with the Comencharos not too far behind.

All four teams have been improving week in and week out and clawing their way up their respective leagues. With the continued support of our sponsors, the SMCOBA Council and staff we hope to progress up through the leagues and bring home some more silverware this season!


We’d like to thank:

  • our sponsors for their continuous help and support throughout the season: Driving Academy NI; Pizza Works; Sullivans Law and Breeze Drycleaners.

  • The SMCOBA Council, without their continued support we wouldn’t be where we are and have the facilities we have so again on behalf of all on the darts committee and teams: thank you!

  • Jonathan McWilliams for his time and effort he puts in to organizing all internal competitions and cups. Cheers Mate!

  • Our four Team Captains: Chris Neeson; Aidan Braniff; Marty Burke and Mark McAlinden. Our Chairman, Stevie Flood, Treasurers Marty Burke & Michael Crangle and all on the Darts Committee.

  • Thank you also to Martin McWilliams behind the bar every Tuesday for his help and support throughout the season.








Darts Section